My Church Story

Growing up, church was not something my family was involved in. Sunday’s at our house meant a long list of chores, grocery shopping and football. God just didn’t fit in there. And since that was how I was raised, I grew up thinking that was the norm, that my life would always be like that. The only thing I knew about church was that it kept me from Saturday night sleepovers with my friends because they had to get up early Sunday morning. 

As I got older, I was curious about Christianity. One of my best friends in high school was and is still one of the best examples of a Christian I have ever had, and she had an incredible influence on my curiosity. She would invite me to church but my parents would seemingly always come up with an excuse for me to not be able to go. So I let it be and continued on with my life. 

My grandmother bought me a study bible one Easter, but I lacked the time and discipline to sit down and read, much less understand it. So it sat and collected dust for a few years. 

That is until Robert, my 12 year old brother, came home from his summer-long trip to my grandparents house. He told me they sent him to church camp while he was there and that he really wanted to start going to church every Sunday. At the time, I was dealing with relationship troubles and so much more so I decided I would take him and my little sister to Northpoint that very next Sunday to try it out. I had heard so many great things about it from many people close to me. 

In October of 2015, my siblings and I attended Northpoint for the very first time. I was excited and nervous, not knowing what to expect considering this was my first church experience ever. I immediately felt welcomed in by guest services. I dropped my brother and sister off in Transit and UpStreet and awkwardly made my way into the auditorium. 

I left my first service feeling rejuvenated. I knew that this was something that had been missing in my life. A hole in my heart had been filled. We spent the whole car ride home talking about what we talked about in each of our groups and how excited we were to go again next Sunday. 

To this day, my siblings still come in my room every Sunday morning to make sure they know when to be ready to leave for church. It’s something we all look forward to. I’ve started talking to God on a regular basis just to thank him for all the blessings he has given me and talk about the future and His plans for me. I have a new sense of purpose in everything I do. I can see Him working in powerful ways on my brother and my sister and myself. 

In March of 2016, I decided to be baptized. I went in on a Thursday to talk to Jordan Geist, the high school ministry director, about the process of getting baptized. I left that day as a small group leader in InsideOut, the high school ministry. To me, that was God’s way of reaching out and giving me a way to serve Him in the church. It has been an incredible blessing. 

On April 23rd, I was baptized. It is a day I will always remember. God has big plans for me. 

“Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and the Holy Spirit.”​

Leave a Reply

