Reflection

I’ve been struggling a lot a work lately, undoubtedly because I’m just tired. The semester is finishing up, the past cheer season is coming to a close, and the preschool year is almost over. I find it harder and harder to wake up in the morning and be excited about work.

But then I get to Good News, the preschool I work at, by 8:30 AM. As I spend 30 minutes preparing activities and getting ready to teach, I start to get excited. As we pray for the patience and strength to get through a day of working with 2-5 year old kids, we can hear them laughing outside the door and trying so hard to open it even though they know it’s still locked. And I wonder why I can barely get out of bed to come to work, but here they are with more energy than I can imagine.

Then I start to realize that this is the best part of their day. They love coming to school. They love getting to spend all day with their friends. They love getting to see the teachers and doing all of the fun things we’ve planned for them, whether it’s a really cool science project or a song about the days of Creation.

Their faces light up when we ask them a question that they remember the answer to. Their eyes shine with pride when we tell them they did an awesome job on their art project, or when they finally master writing a letter that they’ve been struggling with. Suddenly I reminded of why I do what I do.

I love these children like my own (even though I don’t have any of my own). Seeing their artwork displayed in the hall for everyone to see makes me so proud. Watching them write their name by themselves, something they didn’t know how to do last September, is enough to bring tears of joy to my eyes. I have the ability to make such a lasting impact on them and I don’t even know it. So you can bet that this school year is going to end with a bang. And next year, the incoming kids can’t even begin to imagine the exciting things I’ve got in store for them.

Leave a Reply

