First Things First

Blogging is something I’ve always been curious about. While I don’t have a handful of blogs that I follow closely or anything like that, I’ve always thought that it would be something I would enjoy. So here I am, giving it a shot.

I don’t have a glamorous life. I don’t travel the world. I don’t try new recipes every day. I get up every morning, work two jobs, go to school, volunteer at church, and try my best not to get lost in my chaotic schedule. With that being said, let me tell you about me.

My name is Kathleen. I used to hate when people would shorten it to Kate or Kathy, but when I was in high school my best friends started calling me Kat. When I started working with children, Kat stuck because it was a lot easier for a 3 year old to pronounce. I’m twenty years old. I’m a business administration major at the local community college. I have 3 younger siblings, with the youngest being 10 years younger than me. I live at home with my brothers and sister, my parents, and my dad’s parents. I work in a preschool in the morning and coach cheerleading in the evening, all while taking classes during the week as well.

See? I told you it wasn’t glamorous.

I’ve always had to work for what I want. Nothing has ever been handed to me and I never expected for it to be. My parents taught me that if I wanted something bad enough, I had to earn it. I’ve worked since the day I turned 16 and I wouldn’t trade my work experience for anything. It has taught me so much over the years.

I have a wonderful boyfriend of ¬†year and a half. I’ll save our story for another post. All you need to know right now is that it’s impressive that he’s dealt with me and vice versa for so long already. His name is Paden and he’s my favorite person in the entire world.

As far as school goes, I graduated from high school in 2014 and immediately went off to Texas Tech in the fall of the same year. Tech was wonderful but I was very homesick (once again, that’s another story). So over Christmas break, I moved back home to Austin.

I could go on and on, but I’ll keep this post short. Thank you for taking time to read this. I hope you’ll stick around.

Leave a Reply

